DESE Students Announced as the National Winner: James Dyson Design Award 2022

EpiSHOT, a unique reusable epinephrine autoinjector for patients suffering from severe allergic reactions developed by two students from the Department of Electronic Systems Engineering (DESE), Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, has emerged as the National Winner of the prestigious James Dyson Award 2022 ( Students Arjun B S (Ph.D. scholar) and Ajay Krishnan A (project staff) work in the Biomedical and Electronic Engineering Systems Laboratory (BEES LAB) (, led by Prof. Hardik J. Pandya at DESE. The lab is focused on developing innovative technological solutions for unmet clinical challenges through research in science and engineering. The national winners, Arjun B S and Ajay Krishnan A, will receive prize money of around INR 4.6 Lakhs (5000 GBP). They will also represent India in the International round, where final winners will be handpicked by Sir James Dyson (, giving a life-changing chance to talented young innovators to give life to their disruptive concepts.

The link below shows the award details and National Winners from 28 countries.

The James Dyson Award is an international design award that celebrates, encourages, and inspires the next generation of design engineers. It’s open to current and recent design engineering students and is run by the James Dyson Foundation (, James Dyson’s charitable trust, as part of its mission to get young people excited about design engineering. The James Dyson Award encourages students across 28 countries to design something that solves a problem using clever yet simple engineering principles. This year the James Dyson Award received a pool of over 1600 entries globally for the National Winners round.

The technology is ready to be licensed via Scilogic Applied Research Pvt Ltd, a startup co-founded by Prof. Hardik J. Pandya and incubated at SID, IISc Bangalore.